Two Unrelated Things

Two completely unrelated things that I got, indirectly, for Christmas. With some book vouchers I bought this:

HHhH

I was going to say ‘a fantastic novel’ but I’m not entirely sure that’s what it is. It’s more a historical study, written in a novelistic style, with interjections from the author worrying about turning fact into narrative. I don’t like the term ‘non-fiction novel’. Brilliant book though. It recounts the assassination attempt upon Reinhard Heydrich, the head of the Gestapo, during the second world war.

You’ll also notice it has an endorsement on the front by Martin Amis. For once, me and Mr Amis agree on something. Wonders will never cease…

Anyway, definitely recommended, as is the latest album by The Pines, which I bought with some iTunes vouchers. This is one of the singles from it. Not sure about all of the lyrics, but just listen to the guitar work on it. Tremendous.

 

I said yesterday I didn’t have a lot to contribute at the moment. This is pretty much it really. Just stuff I like…

One thought on “Two Unrelated Things

  1. Martin Palmer January 8, 2013 / 4:05 am

    I like that, it’s sparse but yet more than ambient dub, good stuff.
    Will check the finances before putting them on the wishlist 🙂

Leave a Reply

