The Cheese Family and Me

22 Nov

I forgot I wrote this. It was a response to a BBC story about foreign names which I sent in about 2 weeks ago. I’m off work today with this virulant man-flu thing that’s been going around so the first I knew about it was when my phone started pinging with messages from people who’d seen it. Woke me up from a fevered half-sleep in fact:

 

The Cheese Family and more Reader’s Names

 

Anyway, yeah, it’s mildly amusing. Ironically, considering it’s about mis-spellings of my surname, they’ve actually mis-spelt my surname in one instance. Or maybe that was me when I sent it in – which kind of undermines my argument a bit…

3 Responses to “The Cheese Family and Me”

  1. Cathy November 23, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    My surname is one of the most ordinary names you could possibly have but I have to spell it 99% of the time. I have in the past thought about changing my name to Cathy-with-a-C-and-White-like-the-colour.

    (p.s. I am glad I have been pronouncing your name in my head correctly)

  2. Martin Palmer December 28, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    You’re right, it is weird to think people would still struggle with it after so many high-profile personalities using the same consonant clusters. Was surprised no-one mentioned Ellis Island in the article to be honest, though the Irish dude touched on the forced change element.
    Anyway, good piece, interesting to read.

Leave a Reply

