Inspired

13 Jan

Nothing of note to say today, I just love this song…

 

I put up a review of the album on Amazon (as I do for things I like) and in the absence of anything else to Blog about, I thought I’d put it up here as well:

Left Me Speechless

There’s good music, there’s great music, and of course there’s rubbish music. Every once in a while I come across a record that is something else entirely. And this is one of those records. On the first listen it literally left me speechless. I couldn’t explain to my other half what I liked about it, I just knew it was something a bit special. I haven’t felt that way since the first time I heard Grace by Jeff Buckley.

This is not an easy listen. It is probably one of the most depressing albums I’ve ever heard. But there is just something incredibly compelling about it. It’s highly original, but that’s not what grabs you: it’s the honesty, the pain, the sheer intensity of the emotion packed into it.

At times, ironically, there does seem to be the odd musical nod to Jeff Buckley. There are some occasional Nick Cave-esque lyrics about redemption. But apart from that, it’s not really quite like anything I’ve heard before. Looking at the reviews here I’m not overly surprised that it has split opinion somewhat. Because it is a bold and uncompromising album. It won’t be to everyone’s taste. Bouncy, sing-a-long pop music it certainly isn’t. Posturing, riff-laden rock music it certainly isn’t. But if, like me, you think there should be music out there that pushes the boundaries a little bit, that delivers something new and worthy of your attention, then this has to be it. I disagree that it’s tuneless. The melodies are subtle and are broken up at times, quite cleverly in my opinion, by the more wordy sections of the lyrics. Sometimes the melodies do disappear and are replaced instead by disembodied guitar phrases that I think are just beautiful. It’s a clever and unique way to present music. And it fits perfectly the highly personal, whispering confessional style of Pearson’s singing.

I suspect this will be one of those records that gets looked back on as a template for all manner of things that follow it. A future classic that is spoken of as being a bit ahead of its time. Seriously, I do believe it’s that good. I don’t often agree with music critics but they have it right on this one. Wow, what a way to start 2012 for my music collection.

4 Responses to “Inspired”

  1. James Everington January 16, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Told you. Really good isn’t it?

    He’s great live, although slightly more deadpan jokes about anal sex than you might expect from his album…

  2. Neil Schiller January 17, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    James, yeah, I really love it. The Lift to Experience record is alright but this one is brilliant I think.

    Er, yeah, that does sound a bit incongruous doesn’t it? There’s a bit of a theme to the record but anal sex isn’t it – unless I’ve fundamentally misunderstood his lyrics… I can understand trying to think of banter for an audience is a bit daunting but that does seem a strange route to go down for him I have to say.

    How’s your penny dreadnought stuff going? I’ve managed to churn out a little bit more of a short I’m working on and a little bit of editing on what I’ve done so far on the novel. Problem is my social life has unexpectedly kick up a gear – too many nights out at the moment. Did you see the New Libertines thing Dan is doing in Manchester next week? I’m going to go along to that – not too far from Liverpool. What’s the journey there like from Nottingham?

  3. James Everington January 18, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    You might not guess it from the record, but he talks for ages between songs – just rambling on in his deadpan Southern accent… there’s lots of genuine laughter from the audience. And then he starts a song and you can hear a pin drop. Very confident performer – has the crowd in the palm of his head.

    Penny Dreadnought’s going okay, I think – the second one is out now. In other me-news, I’ve also started going to a writing course with the aim of meeting some fellow writers in the flesh rather than on the internet (no offence!) We’ll see how that goes.

    Think it’s a good couple of hours from Nottingham to Manchester by train – it goes a really odd route as I remember. Shame, as it would have been great to met both you and Dan…. ah well, hopefully our paths will cross at some point! And hopefully wherever it is they’ll be a bar….

  4. Neil Schiller January 19, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    That’s a shame James. I am still keeping on eye on anything I’ve got coming up that takes me near Nottingham so I can buy you a beer…

    Going to a writing course? To meet non-internet acquaintences? That’s shocking… How’s that going? I still go to the writing group I joined and I find it really interesting. There’s such a range of stuff people are interested in, that I wouldn’t normally look at, but some of it really makes you laugh or think about different approaches. I enjoy it.

    I had my interview yesterday for the MA course I was looking at and got offered a place. It looks like a really good course. There is a balance between practical work and poetics which I think will be useful in making me think about why I’m writing in the way I do, what I’m trying to achieve and where I want to take it. It’s geared around producing a manuscript of whatever you want but with exposure to the techniques of selected authors for discussion and to potentially include in your approach etc. Postmodernism is a big one they cover. Not that I think I’m ever going to be a postmodernist writer but after studying that kind of thing it’ll be interesting to think about it instead in relation to what I’m trying to do. There’s also a practical module about finding an agent/publisher or starting up a journal etc. which sounds interesting. I might find out why my journal was such a miserable failure (although I suspect I already know why…) So I think I’m definitely going to give it a go. Still have reservations of course but I think it will at the very least give me some focus and impetus which is what I need at the moment…

Leave a Reply

