T-Shirt Giveaway

12 May

I got a review on Goodreads the other day and it got me thinking. These immortal lines are from that review:

“The book was bleak, dismal. It’s characters were simmering in a stew of doomed sexual passion; they were buried in meaningless work; it was always raining, or about to rain… I didn’t really like the book. But I couldn’t stop reading it.”

Believe it or not, this is a positive review. I know, this is just what my book does to people…

There is a now a growing, but still rather exclusive, club of people who have read Oblivious and survived. So in honour of this fact I’m running a competition. If you’ve read Oblivious, or have bought it and are about to read it, YOU can win a t-shirt. No, seriously. This is it here:

This high quality cotton item is available in one colour only – grey, obviously – and features the slogan “I read Oblivious…and didn’t drink bleach”. I said to someone earlier as a joke that I should print a t-shirt with this slogan on, and I must suffer from some sort of compulsive disorder or something because I then just HAD to do it. It’s sitting in my basket ready for order on a printing website so will be available in whatever size the lucky winner happens to be. All you have to do to enter is to post a comment on this Amazon Forum thread – can be anything at all you want, a joke, some abuse directed towards me, maybe something bleak and dismal, whatever. And the only rule is, you have to own Oblivious. On Monday next week I’ll pick one person at random, and I’ll ask them a question about the book that they have to answer correctly in order to receive this most unique and covetable of prizes. (It’ll be an easy question, something like what’s the first sentence of a particular story – it’s only to sort the true survivors from the pretenders)…

So if you need something to wear for decorating in, if you rent your last t-shirt in two with the sheer angst of reading my short stories, then I might be able to help you.

I know there are some of you out there – Amazon sales reports tell me so.

4 Responses to “T-Shirt Giveaway”

  1. James Everington May 12, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Class… Hope it’s made out of strong cotton, the kind that can be used as an emergency noose if one finds oneself re-reading Oblivious in a dark pit (while listening to Josh T Pearson).

    Seriously, I hope these people who think Oblivious is bleak never read Requium for a Dream.

  2. Neil Schiller May 12, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    I thought Last Exit to Brooklyn was grim. It was a trial to get through that one still smiling…

  3. James Everington May 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I expect your next book to be called ‘Sunshine & Lollipops”

Leave a Reply

