Another Stupid Promo Thread

28 Apr

I’m too cowardly to put this one up on Amazon, I’ll admit. I had it all written out and then I just cancelled it. I’m not a glutton for punishment. I know how easily people can get offended over there and I figured it would be just too simple to take this wrongly and decide it was in bad taste. And then I’d have to point out I donated all proceeds to charity last month and was almost certainly going to do it again this month, and I’d end up talking myself into a corner and looking like even more of an idiot.

I’ve written it now though, and as I mentioned before – I’m a frugal bastard. So I’m going to put it up here in relative safety…

The title would have been “Please help the writers”:

Every day in the UK there’s a writer who gets no sales. For these poor souls, the endless hours linger on with nothing to break the monotony but the futile, compulsive checking of Amazon reports. Neil is one such writer. He was thirty six when he self-published his book and it went out into a world of hardship and indifference. Nobody cared. He craved the love and support that people like you could have helped provide.

But it’s not too late. For just seventy pence, you could help people like Neil. Help them put their lives back together and repair their shattered self-esteem.

Seventy pence is all it would take to buy a copy of Oblivious. For one pound forty you could ease further pain with a copy of The Haiku Diary too.

People like Neil hate asking for your money. They’re a proud group who are simply lost and confused in the chaos of the modern world. Please help them acclimatise. By working together we can reintegrate them into society, we can help them become productive members once more.

Whether it’s seventy pence, or one pound forty, or whatever you can give, you can make a difference. One click now on 0800-0b1iv0u5 and you can help give an ailing writer a chance at happiness.

Thank you.

4 Responses to “Another Stupid Promo Thread”

  1. Iain Manson April 29, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    “My Lord, unhappily for our Country, nothing can be done for you.” (Surgeon Beatty, HMS Victory, 21st October 1805)

  2. Neil Schiller April 29, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Hahahahah. At least I had the sense NOT to hit post on the forum this time…

    Loved your last two posts by the way. I think I’m probably siding more with the first one than the latter at the moment, but hopefully I’m wrong.

  3. jogblog May 24, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I found your book while searching for Raymond Carver in the Kindle Store. I didn’t find him but your book came up and, so, for 70p, thought I’d take a chance and bought it.

    Wow.

    It’s great.

    Why didn’t a publisher snap you up?

    I’ve read a few self-published books via Amazon and the quality is, hmm, mediocre/average/not-terrible-but-not-very-good/I-can-see-why-you’re-not-published, but yours is quality. Proper quality. I recommended you to a friend and she also parted with her 70p.

    What a bargain.

  4. Neil Schiller May 24, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Hey, Jogblog, thanks for your kind comments. I really appreciate it. Glad you liked it. Most people have commented that it’s very very bleak, which it kind of is, I can’t really argue there…

    I’m a huge fan of Carver to be honest, and he was a big influence on the stories. Obviously I wouldn’t put myself in the same bracket, I think he’s far too good to compare yourself to, but the approach he uses is what I was kind of aiming for I suppose. So when I stuck it up on Amazon I tagged it so it was related to him in some way – a minion tagging along after the master 😀

    But thanks for reading it, and thanks for taking the time to come over here and comment. That kind of thing does make my day. To be honest, I didn’t do as much as I should have done in finding a publisher, but I did try a few agents and they all said there was absolutely no point approaching publishers as they weren’t interested in short stories from an unknown. So I gave up for a bit until I kind of stumbled across the Amazon platform by accident.

    Anyway, rambling as I’m prone to do. Thanks again. And thanks for the recommendation to a friend, that’s a real bonus. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

