Eight Cuts

31 Mar

Dan Holloway, who I’ve reviewed on this Blog twice now, runs a website and small press called Eight Cuts. I’ve been corresponding with Dan a little bit over on Amazon forums – we bumped into each after I’d read his work – and he’s a really nice guy, very well read and incredibly informed. His enthusiasm for new writing is pretty inspiring. As of today he’s very kindly featured my work on his site, an occurance which has given me a bit of a kick up the arse to update the blog with about 3 or 4 other indie/small press books I’d reviewed recently. I’m pretty sure Dan’s pages get a lot more traffic than mine, but on the off chance you haven’t been over there already (and why haven’t you? You really should sort that out right now…) then this is the link: Eight Cuts.

Dan is a founder member of the Year Zero group and a lot of the good indie stuff I’ve been reading (not all, but a lot) has come out of this group. In addition to that, Eight Cuts seems to be a focal point for some of the best independent and underground work around. Seriously, that’s where it’s all going on. Go on, get your arse over there, you know you want to.

2 Responses to “Eight Cuts”

  1. James Everington April 2, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Hi Neil – funnily enough I stumbled on the Eight Cuts site accidentally on the very day you were mentioned on it; my first though was “Neil’s going to think I’m internet stalking him *again*…”

    You’re right though, it’s a great site, and inspiring.

  2. Neil Schiller April 2, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    James, it’s one of those isn’t it? If you have similar interests you keep bumping into the same people all over the place. I followed a trail from Larry Harrison’s book to the Year Zero site, found Dan’s name there and followed his profile from one of his books and found Eight Cuts. I’m just really impressed with his enthusiasm and his energy. After sitting on my own in a room writing it’s just brilliant to see someone in the middle of a community of writers, most of whom are incredibly good. It got me off my arse and into Liverpool to get involved with a few things going on there (they weren’t easy to find, but in the end I uncovered a few). I just envy that community spirit I suppose and would love to emulate it in some way.

    His writing is great too. It’s so emotive, it just drags you in. I didn’t think I’d like his latest one but I read the sample and again, it just drew me in totally.

    I discarded my Authonomy account the other day by the way. Wasn’t impressed really. It has obviously changed since you used it. If you’d still been on there though I probably would have bumped into you again… Mutual stalking 😀

Leave a Reply

